“Raindrops on Roses”

IMG_0155Okay I’ll admit it, this photo doesn’t have much to do with this post, but I thought the rose was really beautiful.

Well everyone, I guess Bruno Mars was right about one thing . . . “It will rain”. After being here for nearly three weeks and having fairly clear skies, I knew we had to be due for the notorious London drizzle, the question was when, and today it finally rained! You’re probably thinking I’m crazy for being excited for it to rain here seeing as I’m used to this weather back home, but there is something really relaxing about taking a nice walk around the neighborhood (as long as you are warm that is) or listening to the raindrops hit the window while I’m curled up in bed trying to take an afternoon nap. I can’t tell you how long I have waited to write this post. Back when I was working over the summer, I would always hear this catchy song by Mika playing on the soundtrack, and often times it would get stuck in my head for the rest of the day so I thought it would be perfect to link on my blog. I suppose I was expecting it to rain a lot sooner here because the people I talked to before my trip noted that it rains A LOT so “be prepared”. Yesterday, I went to see Shakespeare’s Macbeth at the Globe theatre with my classmates (photos of the evening will be posted soon) for one of the courses I’m taking here and I was hoping that it would start raining during the performance to support the tone of the production, but considering how freezing we all were last night, I’m really glad that it didn’t downpour until today. I’m sure eventually I will get sick of the rainy weather, but for now I’m soaking the experience in. I know this will be the second music post I have done in the past couple of days, but I felt like I had to document the first major rainfall whilst at school! Have a little listen and enjoy!

Until next time,

Lainey xoxo

One thought on ““Raindrops on Roses”

Leave a Reply

